GAA, Hurling, Sports

Kilmaley Crowned U21 Hurling Champions

SliotarKilmaley collected their second ever U21 hurling title after comprehensively overcoming the challenge imposed by Éire Óg.

Kilmaley 3-17
Éire Óg 2-05
Venue: Cusack Park

Einne O’Connor struck for an early goal to boost the hopes of the Townies but this served to inspire Kilmaley who replied perfectly to the concession of the goal as they hit nine unanswered points.

At half-time the scoreboard read 0-12 to 1-02 in favour of the Martin Enright managed Kilmaley and confidence was high knowing that they had a strong wind at their backs for the second half.

Sean O’Loughlin goaled early on in the second half after good work from the impressive Aidan Kennedy. A further goal from Eamon Bracken killed off the game as a contest as it ensured a win for Kilmaley, their first county title at this grade since 1975.

Key performers for the victors included Aidan McGuane, Conor Cleary, Aidan Kennedy and Cian Moloney. Shane O’Donnell, Kieran Malone and Liam Corry were the main men for the Ennis club.

After the game Clare County Board secretary, Pat Fitzgerald presented the cup to winning Kilmaley captain and Miltown native Conor Cleary.

Kilmaley: Conan Fitzgerald, Darragh McMahon, Shane Lynch, Aidan McGuane, Conor Finucane (0-01), Conor Cleary, Brian Cahill, Sean Kennedy, Michael O’Malley (0-01), Cian Moloney (0-09), Páraic McNamara (0-01), Eamon Bracken (1-01), Sean O’Loughlin (1-00), Darragh Gregan, Aidan Kennedy (1-03). Subs: Barry Lynch (0-01) for Gregan, Cian O’Ceallaigh for A Kennedy, Joe Carmody for Finucane, Shane O’Malley for O’Loughlin, Sean Murphy for S Kennedy.

Éire Óg: Sean Smyth, Jack Keating, David Neylon, Tadhg Connellan, Liam Corry, Dara Walsh, Michael Moloney, Kieran Malone (1-00), Cian Darcy, Nathan Murray, Conor Brennan, Eimhin Courtney, Einne O’Connor (1-00), Shane O’Donnell (0-03), Conor O’Halloran (0-02). Subs: David McNamara for Courtney, Liam Lynch for O’Connor (Inj), Martin Darcy for Brennan, Ciaran MacMathuna for Murray, James Woods for Smyth (Inj).

Referee: Jim Hickey (Cratloe).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: