Abroad, GAA, Hurling, News, Sports

Galvin US-bound for the summer

Colm Galvin. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

Colm Galvin. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

Clare Senior Hurler Colm Galvin has confirmed he will miss the start of this summer’s All Ireland Championship at least following his decision to move to Boston later this month.

The 22-year-old Clonlara man, who featured prominently in Clare’s Allianz National Hurling League campaign, will link up with the Tipperary club in Boston for the summer.

Galvin won three successive All Ireland U21 titles with Clare in 2012, 2013 and 2014, and was also on Clare’s All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship winning side in 2013.

Spending a summer in the U.S has been on Galvin’s mind for the past number of seasons but he has been too busy with his commitments to the Clare camp. “If I didn’t do it this year, I wouldn’t do it. I’ve been thinking about doing this for the last two or three years.

Colm has praised manager for Davy Fitzgerald for his support. “Davy’s been very good. I let him know around December and he had an inkling that I might be going. I brought it up again around February and he’s been very supportive. He said there would be a place for me when I come back but that I’d have to fight hard. I couldn’t ask for more”.

His loss will be massive for both the Banner and his club Clonlara but the midfielder admits he gave everything he could to the cause during the National Hurling League and has now called on the Clare supporters to get behind the Senior Hurling side. “I said I’d give my all before I left and I made a conscious decision that I’d finish with the National League. Things didn’t work out too well unfortunately and while there have been a lot of stories flying around lately, it’s time for everybody to get behind the team now”.

Clare face Limerick in the Munster Hurling Championship in eight weeks time.

About Mark Dunphy

Founder and Editor of The Clare Herald, Mark Dunphy is a native of Connolly in County Clare. Mark also operates Dunphy PR.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

clare_company_the_burren_smokehouse_lands_3_great_taste_awardsDoolin-Folk-Festivaladdtext_com_MTU0MzQ2MTAwNTYmURFAarmada-hotel-logo90502.original.pngadd-banner-ad-blogger-trick

Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features

Webcam

web statistics
