GAA, Hurling, Sports

Clare and Tipp Name Teams For NHL Clash


Clare manager, Davy Fitzgerald has made five changes to his starting fifteen for Sunday’s NHL encounter with Tipperary who have also opted for to alter their side with Eamon O’Shea making three switches.

Ballyea’s Paul Flanagan makes his second competitive start for the Clare Senior side slotting in at corner-back in place of his clubmate Jack Browne. In the same line of the field UL Fitzgibbon Cup captain, David McInerney will make his first appearance in the 2015 NHL campaign in place of Clonlara’s Domhnall O’Donovan.

Miltown man Conor Cleary also drops out of the starting fifteen and his omission brings with it a number of positional switches. Shane Golden enters the team at wing-forward in Cleary’s absence, Joint-Captain Patrick Donnellan moves back to the middle of the park with Brendan Bugler reverting to wing-back.

Up front, Tony Kelly appears for the first time in this year’s League at centre forward and Clarecastle’s Bobby Duggan drops to the bench as a result. Cratloe’s Conor McGrath earns a starting berth at corner-forward with David Reidy losing out.

Following a four point win over Galway in their last league outing, Tipperary manager Eamon O’Shea has decided to make three changes to freshen things up as they aim to get their second win of the 2015 NHL.

Injury rules Thurles Sarsfields man Denis Maher out of the fixture and he is replaced by Noel McGrath who slots into the team at corner-forward with John O’Dwyer being pushed back to the half-forward line.

Newport’s Conor O’Mahony is named at full-back in place of Paul Curran and is now assigned to mark Shane O’Donnell. At midfield James Woodlock replaces Templederry Kenyons man Gearóid Ryan.

At present, Cork and Dublin sit at top of Division 1A with four points each having played three games. Davy Fitzgerald’s Clare are rooted to the bottom of the table without a single point. Meanwhile the remaining three teams; Kilkenny, Galway and Tipperary all have two points. A win for the Banner would see them move up in the rankings provided there is no draw between Kilkenny and Galway.

Throw in for the encounter is 14:00 with Offaly’s Brian Gavin as the man in the middle for the Cusack Park clash.

1: Patrick Kelly (Inagh/Kilnamona)
2: David McInerney (Tulla)
3: Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
4: Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
5: Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
6: Conor Ryan (Cratloe)
7: Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
8: Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
9: Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghans Mills)
10: John Conlon (Clonlara)
11: Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12: Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
13: Conor McGrath (Cratloe)
14: Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
15: Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus).

1: Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
2: Cathal Barrett (Holycross/Ballycahill)
3: Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
4: Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)
5: Michael Breen (Ballina)
6: Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7: Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
8: Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
9: James Woodlock (Drom/Inch)
10: John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
11: Brendan Maher (Borris/Ileigh)
12: Jason Forde (Silvermines)
13: Noel McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney)
14: Seamus Callinan (Drom/Inch)
15: John McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: