GAA, Hurling, Sports

Three Changes In Cork Team To Play Clare

Alan Cadogan is named at corner-forward in the Cork team. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene (SPORTSFILE)

Alan Cadogan is named at corner-forward in the Cork team. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene (SPORTSFILE)

In the wake of their two point defeat to Kilkenny in the opening round of the National Hurling League, Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has made three changes to his starting team.

Lorcán McLoughlin, Rob O’Shea and Luke O’Farrell are the trio to enter the fray with Patrick Cronin, Bill Cooper and Paudie O’Sullivan dropping to the bench. Kanturk’s McLoughlin will line out at wing-back and Aidan Walsh takes Cronin’s position in the cente of the park.

Bill Cooper loses his place on the starting fifteen due to injury and Carrigaline comes in at wing-forward in his absence. Midleton man Luke O’Farrell will be hoping to replicate some of the damage he caused in the Waterford Crystal Cup against the Clare defence on the edge of the square.

Only five players that featured for the Rebels in their January 24th defeat of the Banner in the Waterford Crystal Cup semi-final are down to start on Saturday evening. Conor O’Sullivan, Damien Cahalane, Lorcán McLoughlin, Luke O’Farrell and Mark Ellis are the players who have already had success over Clare in 2015.

A Clare team is expected to be announced close to throw-in on Saturday. Both David McInerney and Tony Kelly are major doubts with hamstring injuries. Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald has a long list of injuries with Eoin Enright, Jamie Shanahan and Peter Duggan some of the players ruled out.

Clarecastle’s Bobby Duggan is tipped to regain his place in the Clare side while the likes of Cian Dillon, Domhnall O’Donovan, Colin Ryan, Colm Galvin, John Conlon and Shane O’Donnell are strong contenders to hold on to their jerseys.

Cork Team:
1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
2. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
12. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: