GAA, Hurling, Sports

Cork Name Side for Semi-Final With Clare

Peter Duggan is the only long term injury in the Clare camp. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

Peter Duggan is the only long term injury in the Clare camp. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

Jimmy Barry-Murphy has named his starting fifteen that will take on Clare in the Waterford Crystal Cup semi-final at the weekend.

JBM makes a total of six changes from the team that defeated Cork Institute of Technology comprehensively on a scoreline of 4-15 to 2-13. William Kearney, Christopher Joyce, Paul Haughney, Alan Frahill-O’Connor, Dayne Lee and Paudie O’Sullivan make way. Those slotting into the side in their absence include; Damien Cahalane, Sean O’Donoghue, Peter Kelleher, Brian Lawton, Cian McCarthy and Luke O’Farrell.

The match will be Cork’s third game of the year so far, having already disposed of the University of Limerick and C.I.T. in earlier games. A number of experienced players are included on the bench for the Rebels such as captain Anthony Nash, Daniel Kearney, Patrick Cronin, Seamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan and Paudie O’Sullivan.

At least five players that took on Clare in the All-Ireland final of 2013 will take to the field on Saturday. Conor O’Sullivan, Lorcán McLoughlin, Cian McCarthy, Stephen Moylan and Luke O’Farrell all faced off against the Banner in Croke Park in September 2013 and they will start this weekend. A number of Cork players are ruled out having played for their respective college already in the competition, Stephen McDonnell, Luke Meade and Paul Haughney are absent due to injury.

Just like last week, the Clare team will not be named until matchday. Fresh from their one point win over Tipperary, the Davy Fitzgerald managed team will be hoping to maintain their form as they head Leeside. David McInerney, Tony Kelly, Jack Browne, David Reidy and Stephen O’Halloran are all unavailable as they have already represented their respective colleges in the team. Clooney/Quin’s Peter Duggan is a long term absentee following recent surgery.

It remains unclear whether or not the Clare management will keep faith in the starting fifteen that defeated the Premier County in Sixmilebridge or if new players will be given a chance ahead of the Allianz National Hurling League. After last week’s solid display, the likes of Domhnall O’Donovan, Seadna Morey, Gearóid O’Connell, Cathal ‘Tots’ O’Connell and Bobby Duggan look set to hold on to their jerseys.

Throw in for Saturday’s clash is at 14:00 in Mallow with Waterford referee Paul Foley taking charge of his second Cork match of 2015.

Cork Team:
1: Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
2: Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
3: Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4: Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
5: Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)
6: Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
7: Glen O’Connor (St Finbarr’s)
8: Brian Murray (Bishopstown)
9: Andy Walsh (Killeagh)
10: Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
11: Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)
12: Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
13: Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
14: Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15: Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle).
16: Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
17: William Kearney (Sarsfields)
18: Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
19: Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
20: Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
21: Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh)
22: Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
23: Alan Frahill-O’Connor (Youghal)
24: Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
25: Patrick Hogan (Glen Rovers)
26: Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: