GAA, Hurling, Sports

Tipp Name Team For Clare Clash


Tipperary manager, Eamon O’Shea has made named his starting fifteen for Sunday’s Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final tie with Clare.

Only three players who started the All-Ireland hurling final replay make O’Shea’s team. Brendan Maher, James Woodlock and Gearóid Ryan are the trio contained in the side from September. Now in his final year as Tipperary manager, O’Shea has started 2015 on a positive note as his side overcame a spirited Mary Immaculate College outfit on a scoreline of 4-16 to 1-16 to book a date with Davy Fitzgerald’s men in O’Garney Park, Sixmilebridge.

Seven changes have been made from the Tipp team that booked their passage to the quarter-final less than a week ago. Stephen Maher, Shane McGrath, Pádraic Maher, Kieran Bergin, Liam Treacey, Patrick Maher and hat-trick hero from the last day, Seamus Callanan all make way. In their place come, Conor O’Brien, Ronan Maher, Brendan Maher, Thomas Stapleton, James Woodlock, Conor Kenny and Shane Bourke.

Davy Fitzgerald is expected not to name his side until closer to the game. However, he will be without all panellists from the 2014 All-Ireland winning U21 team who are heading to England for the weekend on a team holiday. Furthermore, Tulla’s David McInerney is not eligible to play having lined out for the University of Limerick managed by Brian Lohan, last week.

Some of the expected names on the Clare teamsheet on Sunday include; Brendan Bugler, Colin Ryan, Paul Flanagan, Patrick Donnellan, Domhnall O’Donovan, Davy O’Halloran, Cathal Malone and Cian Dillon.

Throw in on Sunday is at 14:00 in O’Garney Park, Sixmilebridge. Limerick’s Johnny Murphy is the man in the middle.

Tipperary Team:
1: Darragh Egan (Kildangan)
2: Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
3: Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
4: Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)
5: Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
6: Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
7: Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
8: Thomas Stapleton (Templederry-Kenyons)
9: Gearóid Ryan (Templederry-Kenyons)
10: Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
11: James Woodlock (Drom&Inch)
12: Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
13: David Butler (Drom&Inch)
14: Sean Maher (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
15: Shane Bourke (JK Brackens)
Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
Seamus Callanan (Drom&Inch)
Stephen Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
Patrick Maher (Lorrha)
Liam Treacy (Loughmore-Castleiney).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: