Rugby, Sports

Munster side for Zebre clash is named

munsterHead Coach Anthony Foley has named his side to face Zebre in round 13 of the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow afternoon and included the returning Keith Earls and James Cronin in the matchday 23.

Having successfully rehabbed a knee injury sustained at an Ireland training camp during preseason, Keith Earls could make his first appearance of the season after being named amongst the replacements for this weekend’s clash in Italy.

Prop James Cronin could also feature from the bench after recovering from a shoulder injury sustained during Munster’s Champions Cup defeat to Clermont Auvergne at the start of December.

In total Foley makes seven personnel changes from the side that started in the defeat away to Connacht on New Year’s Day.

In the front row Eusebio Guinazu makes his first start for the province, doing so at loosehead alongside hooker Kevin O’Byrne and tighthead Stephen Archer, both of whom come back into the starting line-up.

The return of Dave Foley to the second row will see Billy Holland wear the number 5 jersey this weekend, while in the back row number 8 CJ Stander is the only player remaining in situ from the Sportsgound defeat.  Dave O’Callaghan makes his first start since returning from injury at blindside with Peter O’Mahony moving to openside for the first time this season.

Conor Murray resumes his partnership with Ian Keatley in the half-backs and JJ Hanrahan and Pat Howard continue in the midfield at inside and outside centre respectively.

Just one personnel change in the back three sees Felix Jones come in at fullback meaning Simon Zebo reverts back to the left wing with Ronan O’Mahony on the opposite flank.

Zebre v Munster, Guinness PRO12 Round 13, Saturday January 10th at the Stadio XXV Aprile – KO 3pm Irish (4pm local).

This game will be televised on Nuvolari TV and not broadcast on Irish channels.  You can follow live updates on twitter by following @munsterrugby #ZebVMun

Munster:  Felix Jones; Ronan O’Mahony, Pat Howard, JJ Hanrahan, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Eusebio Guinazu, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer; Dave Foley, Billy Holland; Dave O’Callaghan, Peter O’Mahony – capt., CJ Stander.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Keith Earls, Johne Murphy.


About Stephen Davis

Stephen is a native of County Wexford. Email him at


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s





Clare Herald on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow The Clare Herald and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Clare Herald Features


web statistics
%d bloggers like this: